The 2015 Man Booker Prize Shortlist

I really didn’t pay much attention to the Man Booker Prize until this year but it seems to be getting a lot of attention from the book bloggers and vloggers I follow and I thought I’d check out some of the shortlist. It seems like a great way for someone like me–relatively inexperienced in modern literary fiction writers–to find a place to start reading in the genre. Especially since the Man Booker prize has in recent years opened itself up to submissions from writers outside the UK adding some diversity to the selection of long and shortlisted works.

So, though it’s a bit late in the game to start this, I thought I’d set myself the goal of reading and reviewing all six shortlisted novels, hopefully sometime before the end of 2015 (The prize winner will be announced October 13, but I definitely will not get finished that quickly!)

Here’s the list, if you haven’t seen it already, and I’ll link my reviews up here once they are posted as well. Let me know if you’ve been checking out the shortlist, and, if so,who you predict will win! I’ve been hearing lots of buzz around A Little Life but I know A Brief History of Seven Killings and The Year of the Runaways have been very well loved by those who’ve read them as well:

A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James

Satin Island by Tom McCarthy

The Fisherman by Chigozie Obioma

The Year of the Runaways by Sunjeev Sahota

A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler

A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

Leave a Reply

