Bout of Books Day 1-Challenge: Bookish Survey

 

2015-04-05 21.08.38
TBR barely contained in/on the brown shelf on the left with non-fiction, science fiction and fantasy on the black shelf on the right.
20150511_213455
Fantasy books. If I’m being honest, I must admit that the six shelf built in was a factor in choosing this apartment !

 

1. How do you organize your shelves?

TBR and read books are separate and then there’s some loose genre categorization: non-fiction, general fiction (with sub categories of anthologies and plays), science fiction, and fantasy. There’s also one kind of weird shelf with mostly YA and children’s fantasy books that I’m keeping from when I was a kid. On a surface level, they would all go nicely other places, but to me they just belong together for nostalgia reasons.






2. What is one of your favorite book that’s not in one of your favorite genres?

The first answer I could think of here was The DaVinci Code. Which I read and loved when I was in high school, but I haven’t been all that much into mystery/thriller type things since.

3. What is the last 5 star book you read?

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. It was so memorable and entertaining, I couldn’t not.

4. What book are you most excited to read during the read-a-thon?

I started Voyager by Diana Gabaldon today and I am excited to get back to it even right this minute. I have some shorter stuff I had planned to bounce to if it got slow or monotonous but I don’t know that I’ll need it.

5. What book do you recommend the most?

As in ever? Yikes.

There’s lots of good options, but I’m going with All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque. Because I read it more than a decade ago, at both a fitting time in history and at a time when I wasn’t quite so set in my ways and could be influenced by it. It still haunts me sometimes.

4 thoughts on “Bout of Books Day 1-Challenge: Bookish Survey

    • Thanks!

      Outlander definitely has a lot of buzz at the moment with the tv show starting in the last year. I broke the cardinal rule of “read it first” and watched the first half of the first season in a weekend, which is what got me hooked.

Leave a Reply

