Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten All Time Favorites from the Past Three Years

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week we’re listing our favorite books out of the ones we’ve read in the last 3 years:IMG_20150303_203137

1. The Fault in Our Stars-I had to whittle this list down from a first pass of fifteen and I still cheated to keep this on it because it’s technically been 37 months, not 36, since I first read it. I knew back then it would be a favorite for a long time to come and I was right.

2. The Way of Kings-I almost hesitated to add this to “all time” favorites lists because there is so much left in the series, but I just adored this world and these characters so much, I had to include it. There’s another particularly popular Sanderson series that would have made this list too, but one per author seemed the best way to go and I love this series even more than Mistborn.

3. Giovanni’s Room-I read this in February, so it’s a little early to have it on a favorites list, but I was so completely in awe of this work that I had to include it. I don’t know any good reasons why I never read James Baldwin in school, but I’m so glad I have started now.

4. Eleanor and Park-This is such a perfect YA romance. Simple and sweet and totally unexpected. I don’t pick it up all the time, but when I do I get completely caught up in it all over again.

5. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe-I read this like a year ago and I still can not wrap my head around how this book did so much with such simple prose in such a short space. It’s the story equivalent of Hermoine’s little beaded bag from Deathly Hallows.

6. The Girl of Fire and Thorns-Everyone and their grandmother is raving about Throne of Glass in the last year or so. And Throne of Glass is awesome, but if you love it and you haven’t read Fire and Thorns you need to jump on it. Strong characters, the most angsty, swoon-inducing romance you’ve ever seen, tight political drama. It has everything you could ever want in a fantasy novel. Read it. Please.

7. Saga-This opened new doors for me. I ventured into a comic book store for the first time so I could get the single issues of this series because I absolutely had to know what happened next at the first opportunity. This merges art and action and striking family drama all into one and it just keeps getting better.

8. The Infernal Devices-The Mortal Instruments series has its share of detractors and its share of rough patches, but this trilogy was all but perfect. Steampunk was on trend at the time it was releasing, but this was still so creative, combining its magic system with another era, and creating one of the best and most interesting romantic plotlines I’ve ever read.

9. Dark Triumph-The first and last books in this trilogy were, in the grand scheme of things, pretty forgettable for me, but this installment will stick with me. Sybella’s story was so compelling and her romance really broke the typical YA and fantasy molds.

10. The Name of the Wind-Patrick Rothfuss does beautiful things with the English language, not surprising, considering he’s building a beautiful world too. The storytelling nature of this series is brilliant and the scope of the world is awesome too. Everybody talks about this with good reason. Scenes in this book and it’s sequel have stuck with me in the two and a half years since I first neglected my homework to fly through them.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten All Time Favorites from the Past Three Years

    • That’s how I feel about so many lists! I actually did lug The Way of Kings in hardcover with me to and from work so I could read it on my lunch break…wasn’t fun but totally worth it. Had to take my wallet out of my purse to fit it in but it worked.

  1. Ah, I really must read The Way of Kings already! I loved Mistborn so much but I can’t believe that’s literally the only Sanderson I’ve read.

    I really loved The Fault in Our Stars too. I read it on a plane and cried an embarrassing amount, haha.

    Well, after reading your list I’ve now added The Girl of Fire and Thorns to my TBR!

Leave a Reply

