Bout of Books 12 and Finishing What I’ve Started

Bout of BooksThe Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 5th and runs through Sunday, January 11th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 12 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

It’s Bout of Books time again! This time last year was my first time participating in this read-a-thon, and it’s one of my favorite things to do on the blog here. We’ll see how busy I get this week, but hopefully I’ll still be able to spend a bunch of time reading.

One of my goals for this month and next is to finish up some series that I started a while ago (in most cases, a year or more) and have for one reason or another taken a hiatus from. So unless I don’t finish my current read this weekend, which is totally possible, I’ll be focusing entirely on those sequels I just haven’t had time for. Don’t know which ones I’ll feel like reading come Monday morning, and I don’t know how far I’ll get, so here’s the whole list:

Opal, Origin, and Opposition (Lux #3-#5) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

I read Obisidan, the first book in this alien-centered paranormal romance series, last January, but didn’t pick up the rest of the series right away. For whatever reason, my library didn’t carry anything beyond book 1 and I wasn’t so obsessed with it that I wanted to buy it at the time. Once the bind-ups came out in the summer, I got a hold of book 2, Onyx,  but didn’t actually get to reading it until December. But I loved it, and got the rest and now it’s time to finish it up, while the plot details and characters are still fresh in my brain.

Never Fade and In The Afterlight (The Darkest Minds #2-#3) by Alexandra Bracken

Never Fade wasn’t quite out yet, I don’t think, when I finished The Darkest Minds back in 2013 and even though I thoroughly enjoyed the series opener, book 2 has somehow languished on my TBR shelf for over a year, since that Christmas. I even bought book 3 on something of a whim when it came out in late 2014, figuring I’d “get to it eventually” (my brain in bookstores….) and after hearing great things about the way this series wraps up, I’d really like eventually to be soon.

Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

So first of all, I read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children kind of a while ago. I was still in college for sure, and so I’m pretty sure it was in the fall of 2012. More than 2 years ago. I did pick the graphic novel adaptation of Miss Peregrine’s, because I’m a follower of Cassandra Jean’s on Tumblr and I love her work. Plus it’s a good way to revist the story somewhat more quickly than rereading an entire novel would be. I’m thinking I’ll read that and then dive into the sequel, in time for the third book later this year, and I of course have to get ahead of the movie bandwagon. The Tim Burton (!) directed movie is out in March 2016.

Rebel Spring and Gathering Darkness (Falling Kingdoms #2-#3) by Morgan Rhodes

Falling Kingdoms was another early 2014 library read, and I apparently had bad luck getting my hands on sequels back then. Falling Kingdoms had a really interesting cast of characters and conflict and really great storytelling, so I’m excited to get back into this world as well.

I’m not expecting to read eight fairly lengthy novels in seven days, but I am as always looking forward to the challenges and the lively social interactions that always come with the week. And it’s good to get the reading goals out there, so that I can share in my triumph later (or just laugh at myself in a few months, when I realized how many things I didn’t do!)

Shout out if you’re participating in Bout of Books 12? Any first timers? Any veterans? Brownie points if you shake your old-timer cane and reminisce about the days when the Bout of Books were in the single digits with a .0 after them.

4 thoughts on “Bout of Books 12 and Finishing What I’ve Started

Leave a Reply

