Bout of Books 11: Weekend Warrior

I came into Bout of Books 11 with a five book TBR and the best of intentions, but then the week became extremely stressful, with busy days at work that I missed much of because of car trouble that turned into a laughably complicated fiasco. When I got home every night, I just wanted to dive back into all my favorite parts of all my favorite books, not tackle the pile I’d laid out for myself. But on Saturday I kicked it back into high gear and did almost nothing but read the whole weekend

Reading Progress

Day 1- Read 60 pages of Mistborn: The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

Days 2-5-Nothing. Nada. Zilch.

Day 6-Started and finished Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King (326 pages); Read approximately (aka I fell asleep while reading into the wee hours of day 7) 250 pages of Mistborn

Day 7-Finished Mistborn (~300 pages); Read 35 pages of The Well of Ascention (Mistborn #2)

Overall:

Pages: 971

Books Finished: Please Ignore Vera Dietz, Mistborn

So fewer books than usual, and only one I wanted to get through, but not too shabby of a page count. Hopefully next read-a-thon I can get back into a more usual mode of participation, but it’s hard to say when life will throw you a curveball.

Challenges:

I only participated in challenges on Day 1, but they were fun ones to be sure!

Playlist

The challenge was to make a playlist of at least five songs based on one of the books you’re reading this week. I knew little to nothing about most of the books I planned to read, and was only about 60 pages into Mistborn at the time, so this turned out to be pretty difficult. On Monday, I thought I’d finish the book and find the first five hilariously off the mark, but I don’t, really. Maybe because I remember what I was thinking when I chose each. Face Down definitely doesn’t apply to the end, but the rest fit moods and themes throughout the book:

My Mistborn Playlist:

1. December-Collective Soul

2. It’s About Time- Young the Giant

3. I Will Not Bow-Breaking Benjamin

4. Face Down- Red Jumpsuit Apparatus

5. Beautiful Thieves- AFI

I did think of some more to add though, I think I made it even more random, but also a little less depressing:

6. Hero-Skillet

7. Fire-Ingrid Michaelson

8. Find You-Zedd

Book Scavenger Hunt

I participated in the other challenge over on Instagram, where I post lots of book-related photos, by the way. Even when I take my extended absences from the blog, I’m snapping pictures of piles of books regularly over there.

A book that starts with B: Bloody Jack by L.A. Meyer

A book turned movie or TV show: The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

A series you love: Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

An anthology: Foretold edited by Carrie Ryan

Your TBR (or a book from it): Red Rising by Pierce Brown. The whole TBR is hard to photograph at night, but I do Instagram it occasionally:

Shelves of possibility (and shame). #tbr

A post shared by Joanne (@j.frang) on

I hope everyone had a great time this Bout of Books! I’ll be sure to catch you next time!

Leave a Reply

