Bookish (and Not So Bookish) Thoughts #4 (?)

Haven’t done one of these in a while! 

Bookish and Not So Bookish Thoughts is a weekly meme hosted by Christine at Bookishly Boisterous. It’s got a self explanatory title, which help me out. Normally I’d write some explanatory sentence here.

-So I finally moved away from my parents house. Hooray to being 23 and financially independent! It’s been fun. Meaning that I’ve mostly been eating a lot of fast food and watching a lot of television.

-The TV watching dealt a heavy blow to my reading and blogging, but between my 3-month HBO trial and Netflix, I’ve been watching some fabulous stuff. Multiple people had recommended Sherlock to me for ages, but I refused to watch it (partly because everyone always talked about how agonizing it was to wait between series). I freaking loved it. Good mysteries and brilliant acting. Also, it’s hilarious. The most intense episodes are the funniest too, which is so great. I’m using the HBO access to watch Girls, which started off a bit rocky for me, but the middle set of episodes in season 1 have been hilarious. It’s like a more awkward, funny, gritty version of Sex and the City, so of course I love it.

-I did go two weeks without cable and internet in my new place, and I did spend that time span doing more bookish things. I read the available two volumes of Brandon Sanderson’s Stormlight Archive series (The Way of Kings and Words of Radiance) and loved them. Can’t stop thinking about them. The characters were so great, living, breathing, flawed little masterpieces, all of them. The world is so vast and fascinating too, it makes total sense that he’s planning another eight 1000-page volumes. There will definitely be more Brandon Sanderson on my shelves soon enough.

-Still sort of participating in BookTube-A-Thon this week. I finished Alex London’s Proxy last night. I wasn’t a huge fan of it, but it was good. Definitely a good one to write a review for, with all the mixed feelings I had about it. Hopefully that will get finished and go up soonish.

-I switched gears after Proxy and started The Diary of A Young Girl today. Still have no idea how I managed to not read that in high school. Everyone read it in high school. Even, like, friends I went to high school with read it in high school. Anyway, I won’t be finishing seven books this week or anything, but it’s pushed me to read a little more than I have been in the post-cable installation world, which is all I really wanted.

-I did a lot of other things in my blogging hiatus that I haven’t mentioned. I went to Ikea the Saturday after the Fourth of July, which was insane. Bought a sweet new bookcase though.

-Last week, I was lucky enough to go see Hank Green and Harry and the Potters and Driftless Pony Club in concert in Denver, which was the nerdiest thing I’ve done, probably, and also insane. It was at the Summit Music Hall, which is decently sized, for a smallish venue, and it was packed. I almost didn’t go, because I wound up having to go alone, but I ran into an old friend of a friend from high school and had the chance to catch up and hang out with her great friends and get a great spot on the balcony and have a really, really great time. 

-I think that’s all I have to report! Hope you all have a good weekend! I’ll be sitting around waiting for my new couch to get delivered….after which I’m sure I’ll just continue to sit around, because of the novelty of the new furniture and all.

Leave a Reply

