Top Three Books I Read Because of BookTube

I write about books on the internet, but I got my start in part because I enjoyed watching people talk about books on the internet. BookTube is a big part of what inspired me to start seeking an audience for my reviews broader than the handful of Facebook friends with Goodreads accounts. It also, of course, has highly influenced what books I’ve picked up in the last year. There are many, but here are three now-favorites that I never would have started without the influence of one BookTuber or another:

The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan (Review!)

I was not unaware of the Percy Jackson series before I heard it mentioned on BookTube. I knew it was popular with tweens and had seen the commercials for the movies, but I had never thought to pick it up myself. I was an adult reading YA books, but middle grade fantasy (and a Harry Potter knock-off to boot!) was just too juvenile for me. It wasn’t until I started watching people my age or a touch older (like Katytastic and PolandBananasBooks) on YouTube rave about the series that I realized I might actually not be above enjoying it. 

Although I wound up a little underwhelmed by the first couple of books in this series (I didn’t completely understand the hype right off the bat), I loved the last few books. I adore Heroes of Olympus; I can’t wait any longer for book five (85 whole days to go!). It’s definitely a series I’m glad I was convinced not to miss. 

Vicious by V.E. Schwab

I would have never ever heard of this if not for BookTube. I don’t specifically remember everyone who raved about it. (JessetheReader for sure. PadfootandProngs07 as well, I think) but it seemed like whenever a BookTuber picked this up, they had nothing but amazing things to say about it.

So back in February, when I was looking for ways to entertain myself on my newly acquired long commute, I purchased the audiobook. The audiobook performance wasn’t terrible or wonderful, but the book itself was fabulous. I loved the storytelling, the complicated, fascinating characters, the way it made me think about perception and heroism. It was an excellent read overall, and I am so happy to have had the help discovering it.

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell (Review!)

This book, you guys. I love it so much. Sad and sweet and funny all wrapped up into one. I know I had never heard of Rainbow Rowell before watching BookTube, but I can’t recall what video exactly made me want to read this. It’s so sad to think that I might have never discovered this now-favorite listed book of mine.

Honorable Mentions (Because three is a small number, and I just keep thinking up more):

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson

Everybody Sees the Ants by A.S. King (Review!)

I hope anyone doing BookTube-A-Thon is off to a great start! I am about to start for real (unless I decide to watch more Sherlock. Which I probably will. Because it’s awesome.)

2 thoughts on “Top Three Books I Read Because of BookTube

Leave a Reply

