BookTube-A-Thon Themed TBR

The Booktube-A-Thon is aimed at Booktubers, obviously. I don’t have a YouTube channel, and have no desire to start one. However, I’ve been in something of a reading slump the last week or so (probably caused by both the installation of my cable and internet last Tuesday and my decision to restart my Netflix subscription) and a blogging slump for ages, so I decided to make a TBR to stick to for the next week that attempts to complete the BookTube-A-Thon reading challenges.

These challenges have the lovely side effect of forcing me to choose books off my shelf that I have wanted to read, but keep just not getting around to. All but one of these was purchased more than two months ago, with some lurking around for over a year unread.

2014-07-12 11.12.20
BookTube-A-Thon reads, against the backdrop of my new bookshelf. Nice, right?

A Book with Pictures: Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

I read Miss Pergrine’s Home for Peculiar Children probably about a year and half ago. I don’t remember too much about it, but I do remember liking it. I got the sequel for my birthday back in March and keep putting off reading it because I keep meaning to reread Miss Peregrines, which I don’t even own, so it’s probably not going to happen. Time to just trust that my memory will return once I crack open this one…

Start and Finish a Series: Just One Day by Gayle Foreman

Everyone’s picking duos for this challenge and I am no exception. I bought Just One Day months and months ago, and picked up Just One Year when I discovered an autographed copy at the bookstore. I’ve been extra excited to read this series after finishing the If I Stay duo last month. Gayle Foreman writes an excellent contemporary romance.

A Book with Red on the Cover: Proxy by Alex London

I kept hearing about this on Booktube and I had to pick it up. The glowing blurbs by Marie Lu don’t hurt either. This is the only book that is a recent purchase, the only one for which the initial purchase excitement hasn’t worn away yet.

A Book Someone Else Picks Out for You: The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank

My friend Savanna bought this for me when I told her I had never had occasion to read it. I somehow missed all the English classes that studied it, apparently. It’s been more than a year since she gave it to me and I still haven’t picked it up. It’s one of the most guilt-inducing books on my TBR shelf and it’s finally time to read it.

A Book from the Genre You’ve Read Least of This Year AND A Book to Movie Adaptation: Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

Adult literary fiction is something I used to read a lot more of and have only read one book of so for this year. I bought Cloud Atlas back when the movie was coming out, so more than a year ago, I think. Picked it up last summer and didn’t get very far into it, though I don’t think I gave it enough of a chance.

Unfortunately, Netflix doesn’t appear to have the movie available to stream, but I’ll see what I can do about also watching the film.

So, anyway, that’s what I’m going to try to read this weekend and next week. (The BookTube-A-Thon starts on Monday, but I already started Proxy) I won’t complete all of the books up there, but I might clear out a few TBR shelf lurkers. I probably also won’t be doing daily updates, like I try to do for the Bout of Books read-a-thons, but the first video challenge, top three books you read because of Booktube, might make a fun post to write sometime this week. I’ll do a wrap up next weekend as well, let you know how everything went.

Six books, three posts, definitely a challenge for this next week in reading and blogging. Any other book bloggers out there sneaking in to the BookTube read-a-thon? Any words of excitement over any of the books I’ve picked?

Leave a Reply

