Bout of Books Update-Day 2

Day 2 Progress

-Read 125 pages of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

-Listened to Chapters 15-20 of The Selection (approximately 66 pages)

Total Day 2:  191 pages

Overall

Pages: 574

Books Completed: The Risen EmpireSpeak

~

Not much to say today. I started Aristotle and Dante and I’m enjoying it so far. Wish I’d gone into it knowing less about it, but nothing to be done about that. It’s really incredible though, how Saenz does so much with the characters in such short and simple lines of prose.

Day 2 Challenge-Books You’re Looking Forward To

Didn’t do a challenge today. Maybe there’s still time…42 minutes left to enter for the prize on the Books You’re Looking Forward To Challenge. I think I can slap a list together. I did download a countdown app on my phone just to keep track of all the books (usually just series installments) I can’t wait for…let’s see what’s on there:

City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare (Releases May 27)-Most anticipated book of the year right here. I practically ran away from the promotional display at Barnes and Noble so I wouldn’t fangirl out in public.

Silver Shadows by Richelle Mead (Releases July 29)-The fifth installment in the Bloodlines series. I adore Bloodlines. It’s my favorite guilty pleasure and Richelle left us with some major loose threads with the previous book.

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas (Releases September 30)-The Throne of Glass series is amazing. Can’t wait. This is getting repetitive.

The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan (Releases October 7)-I’ve extensively documented my relationship with the Percy Jackson series. I liked it sorta, and by the time I hit The Last Olympian I was totally infatuated with it. The Heroes of Olympus series has been a total knockout, and I can’t wait to see where it all ends up.

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater (Releases October 28)-Third book in The Raven Boys series. The title’s a major departure from the rest of the series. It’s extra intriguing.

The challenge also says you can name books that are out, that you’re just excited to read. I have a couple of those too:

The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson-This one has the advantage of having just arrived in the mail today. My coworkers are all into epic fantasy and a couple of them just started this. After listening to them share theories about Patrick Rothfuss’s Kingkiller Chronicle series, a series I started long enough ago I hardly remembered enough to really participate, I’m excited to jump into something I can chat about with them.

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke-I bought this on a whim a few weeks ago and didn’t jump right into it, but I’m still feeling the excitement that made me buy it. It just looks so fascinating. Dark, but really interesting.

~

I’m going to have to figure out a better way to do challenges, maybe do day 4 challenges on day 3’s update. I think that’s what I did during BoB 9.0.  How are you all doing? Finding a way to balance your life with your lofty BoB goals?

3 thoughts on “Bout of Books Update-Day 2

  1. I always try to go into books as blind as possible. Actually, the one I’m reading now (The River of No Return) has been sitting on my TBR for so long that I couldn’t remember anything other than that I wanted to read it!

    As for challenges, I typically do them during the day (last Bout of Books I usually responded in a comment on the challenge post, this time around I’m using Twitter) so I don’t forget about them later. Then I’ll include them in my daily wrap-up post, but I don’t have to wait until I publish my post to enter the challenge.

      • Monday’s chat was absolutely insane. Tonight’s will probably be more of the same (although plans for tonight have changed and I don’t know if I’ll be going or not). Maybe I’ll see you there this weekend!

Leave a Reply

