Bout of Books 10.0

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 12th and runs through Sunday, May 18th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 10 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

I did Bout of Books 9.0 in January and had so much fun with it, there was no way I was missing out again! There’s really no stress unless you want there to be, I just set an ambitious, but flexible goal of reading 5 books instead of a more typical 2 or 3 and I plan on posting a bit more this week and supporting other Bout of Books bloggers the way I was supported last time around.

As I did last time, I’ve thrown together a TBR without much thought as to how much I’ll actually get done. I’m sure I’ll be revising the goal as the week goes along. Like I said, I don’t like to make this stressful at all.

The Officially Official* Bout of Books TBR

Lately I’ve been reading about two books a week, one over the weekend and one during the week. I also listen to audiobooks while I drive to and from work and usually can get a typical 9-10 hour book finished in about 5 days of driving (It’s a long drive). So to push the envelope just a bit, I grabbed four books off my TBR pile to try to finish in addition to the audiobook I started today.

*Not really. That was clearly sarcasm. I will probably change my mind on Sunday night.

Image

 

First up (in the picture, I have no idea what order I’ll actually read in) is The Ring and the Crown by Melissa de la Cruz. I saw this on the new releases shelf on the library last week and grabbed it. I’d heard a couple of reviews that were good, if not stellar, but it did sound like a story I might enjoy, so I couldn’t resist.

Continuing clockwise from the top is Cress by Marissa Meyer, which I meant to read in February when it came out, then put it on my March TBR, and so on and so forth until this second week in May. I adored Cinder and Scarlett and have heard people say this one is their favorite, so I am super excited to finally read this.

Next is Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz. So much buzz about this book lately. Just look at all those award stickers! I bought this a week or so ago and remain extremely excited about it. So much so I might start it right now and be done with it before Monday. It’s so tempting. It’s sitting next to me after the photo shoot and I feel like it’s staring at me.

I read Laurie Halse Anderson’s latest book, The Impossible Knife of Memory, about two weeks ago and thought it was wonderful. When I went back to the library to return it, I sought out the other books of hers that they had and picked up Speak, which is probably her best-known work. It looks pretty short, and I should be able to get through it very quickly, like I did The Impossible Knife of Memory, in a sitting or two over the course of one day. Either way, it’s definitely a book I’ve been meaning to read for a while and am glad to be finally making time for it.

My audiobook right now is The Selection by Keira Cass, which I will almost definitely finish sometime next week. Like Speak, it’s one I’d heard of before and been mildly interested and have just recently decided to start. This one came back up on my radar because everyone is talking about The One, which released last week. So nice to know all the books are out if I wind up addicted. I started it today, though, and it is a bit cheesy and underwhelming, but it’s still enjoyable so far.

When I do finish The Selection I’ll need a new audiobook and I haven’t entirely decided yet what it will be. The most likely candidate is J.R.R. Tolkein’s The Two Towers. I finished The Fellowship of the Ring last week via audiobook and will probably continue on with them, even though I did just get a copy of The Lord of the Rings bound together.

I’m definitely looking forward to getting into another read-a-thon! It’s been too long since I last participated. Let me know if you’re participating in Bout of Books as well and what your favorite thing about this read-a-thon is. For me it’s just the general excitement and community that seems to spring up around it, even more than the reading itself.

5 thoughts on “Bout of Books 10.0

  1. I agree, for me it’s more about the community than the reading. I read all the time. Yeah, it’s nice to have Bout of Books as a motivator, but the other bloggers are really what make the event. (And the Twitter chats are my favorite!) Good luck!

Leave a Reply

