Book Buying

So I wrote this whole review on The Archived by Victoria Schwab last night and came back just now to finish it and…it’s totally gone. I mean, it’s there, but I didn’t save it, so it’s just this one half sentence instead of the 800 words or whatever I had started yesterday. I can’t quite bear the rewriting of it just yet, but I was just watching a video of The Readables  doing this tag and I thought I could handle a few quick questions:

1. How many unread books do you own?

50. That sounds insane, but what’s actually insane is I actually recently made a whole excel spreadsheet cataloging every book I own, so that was a really easy question to answer.It’s a big number to be sure though, and it’s gone up rather than down over the course of this year, but I’m really excited about a good number of them.
2. How many books do you own that you have read?

My spreadsheet tells me 371, but at least 15 or so of those are ebook novellas, so right around 355. Mostly physical copies, but some of those audio and ebooks as well.

3. Do you buy more books than you read?

At my current book purchasing rate, yes. I’m on this kind of insane kick of buying things I originally read from the library, but love enough to own and filling out series that I started out borrowing and then purchased the most recent installments when I couldn’t get my hands on them fast enough. So not everything I buy is unread. But, at the moment, yes. Though I’m really trying to change that trend.

4. Why do you think you haven’t read your unread books?

A good number of them I really want to read and will read this year sometime. I just have a sheer volume problem at the moment. There are too many for me to have read because I’ve bought or received so many so recently. There are 20 or so that have been hanging around for a very long while. I usually bought these on a whim, or at a discounted price or so long ago that I’ve lost interest in reading it. I should get rid of these, but I always look at them and think “Maybe someday…”

5. Are you going to go on a book buying ban?

I more or less just came off of one. Until February I was working only half time for minimum wage and using that money for student loan payments. Before that I was unemployed for a few months and I couldn’t afford to buy all the books I wanted to. I used the library like crazy and restrained my book buying to one had-to-have it sequel every couple of months. Now that I’m working and financially a lot more stable, I’m relishing being able to buy what I want, and though I’ve gone a little nuts, I don’t want to stop having fun with it. I am trying to plan my purchases though (it’s a tab on the spreadsheet), and keep pace with them, rather than outright banning myself. I like it, because I still get that new book feel, but it helps restrain the guilt to know I thought about and researched what I really wanted. Better chance I’ll read it that way as well.

Leave a Reply

