January Wrap-Up/February TBR

Click the titles for reviews and the covers for Goodreads pages! Books with full reviews here on the blog are marked with a *. All other links redirect to my Goodreads review.

Books I Read in January

Every You, Every Me by David Levithan with photographs by Jonathan Farmer Published 2011 by Knopf Hardcover (245 Pages)LuxLSNYTipping PointTitan's CurseDark Magic CoverEOTW CoverEverybody sees the ants coverBattle of the Labyrinth CoverLast Olympian CoverHeavenOreos CoverAnd The Mountains CoverFalling Kingdoms Cover

*Every You, Every Me* by David Levithan -2.5 Stars

*Obsidian* by Jennifer L. Armentrout-4 Stars

The Last Stand of the New York Institute by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan and Maureen Johnson-4 Stars

The Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell-3 Stars

*The Titan’s Curse* by Rick Riordan-4 Stars

*City of Dark Magic* by Magnus Flyte-3 Stars

The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan-4.5 Stars

*Everybody Sees the Ants* by A.S. King-4.5 Stars

The Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan-4 Stars

The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan-5 Stars

*Heaven is Paved with Oreos* by Catherine Gilbert Murdock-3.5 Stars

*And The Mountains Echoed* by Kahled Hosseini-4 Stars

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes-4 Stars (Review coming soon!)

Every month I try to pick a favorite, and most months, I struggle to choose just one. This month, however, The Percy Jackson series has emerged as my clear favorite. I had so much fun finishing the series and I am enjoying myself reading the Heroes of Olympus as well. Nearly everything was reviewed somewhere, either here or on my Goodreads page, so I won’t go on too much about the other books, and reviews of my most recently read books are coming soon!

February TBR

I have a lot of exciting reading plans for the month, and I’m probably overreaching, but we’ll see what I can get to. I went nuts at the library again this month, plus I have plans to reread a series (hopefully, but probably not) before its final book is released.

2014-01-30 22.21.13

So, Tahereh Mafi’s Ignite Me comes out on the 4th, and I plan to reread Shatter Me, Unravel Me and the novella Destroy Me and then read the second novella Fracture Me and, finally, Ignite Me. I started this series about a year ago and I remember that I liked it a lot, but I don’t feel like I remember enough about the books themselves to jump right into the last one without revisiting them first.

From my local library I have obtained The Lost Hero, The Son of Neptune, and The Mark of Athena, the first three books in the Heroes of Olympus series, all by Rick Riordan. After loving Percy Jackson, I’m very excited to marathon these and then wait eagerly for/cave in and buy House of Hades.

Also from the library, I have obtained the YA dystopia Perfect Ruin by Lauren DeStefano, the epic fantasy The Great Hunt by Robert Jordan (book 2 in the Wheel of Time series), and the adult novels-turned-movies Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro and Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer.

The final Bane Chronicle by Cassandra Clare is out this month as well. The Course of True Love and First Dates is all about Magnus and Alec, so, of course, I’m extremely excited to read this one, though I’ll be sad to see the last of the novellas released. They’ve all be fun, and once I’ve read them all, I’ll have to wait nearly 4 months before I can get another Shadowhunter dose with City of Heavenly Fire.

Rounding out my currently planned TBR for the month is my TBR jar draw: Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline. I got this book from my mom, who gave it to me after she finished it. She loved it, and I hope I will as well. Her judgement is usually pretty good, after all. Also, I’m convinced that the jar itself is evil, as it keeps giving me books from the bottom of the pile. Which is no longer a pile, by the way, as it fell completely over as I tried to pull Orphan Train out of there, in a very dangerous game of book Jenga.

Anyway, this means I’ve got 11 books and 3 novellas to read in 28 days. I probably won’t complete it all, but I will try my hardest. What are you planning to read this month?

2 thoughts on “January Wrap-Up/February TBR

    • I’ve done that a few times. It’s so disappointing, even though you know you can go get it another time. I almost had to return Falling Kingdoms before I finished it because someone had a hold on it, but it made it back just in time.

Leave a Reply

