Bookish (and Not So Bookish) Thoughts

Bookish (and not so bookish) thoughts is hosted by Bookishly Boisterous. I haven’t done one of these before, but it’s perfect for my mood today. I want to write, but I’m not done with any new books to review and I’m too scatterbrained to start on another, even more thoughtful post that I have in mind.

1. Not that reviews aren’t thoughtful, I’ve just gotten so formulaic about them. Might be time to shake things up a bit with my next one.

2. Technically, I’m currently reading two books: And The Mountains Echoed by Kahled Hosseini and Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes, though I actually haven’t picked up Falling Kingdoms  in almost a week. Almost done with ATME though, and I’ve really enjoyed it. I got my copy from my mom, who loves Hosseini’s other two books, but couldn’t finish this one, so I was skeptical. It’s good though. It almost reads like a book of short stories, but all the stories are interconnected, as they relate back to one family, specifically one pair of separated siblings.

3. Not that I’ve abandoned Falling Kingdoms entirely, I just got really into the Percy Jackson and The Olympians series and dropped everything to finish it last week. Falling Kingdoms seems really cool so far (I’m like 50 pages in). It’s like a YA Song of Ice and Fire. Multiple perspectives from both sides of a war, the suggestion of incest, the well thought out politics, the small moments inciting big changes. I look forward to getting back to it.

4. After those two are read, I plan on rereading Tahereh Mafi’s Shatter Me series through book 2.5, in anticipation of the third and final book coming out in just about two weeks. I read the first two books about a year ago, and I read them so quickly, I’ve basically forgotten everything but the major premise. Still excited for the last book though, I know I’ll be crazy waiting for it if I reread too soon. Trying to time it so that I get it read before it comes out, but not too soon, is kind of irrationally stressing me out.

5. I also picked up the second book in The Wheel of Time series at the library a couple weeks back, but I’ll probably wind up renewing that and reading it later in February. I like that series, but I’ll probably read some of this other stuff first. Soon, though. I never wrote a review of The Eye of the World; it just seemed silly to review a book that’s been out longer than I’ve been alive, but I do want to write about it. I’m thinking a post about the epic fantasy hero’s journey trope. Not that I’m a qualified literary expert, but it might be fun to try.

6. It’s almost the end of January and I still don’t have a freaking job in my degree field. So, so frustrating. I didn’t major in one of those notoriously hard-to-get-jobs in fields either. I’m an engineer. I have another interview mid-February and some other things on the line, if I can get a phone call returned for once.

7. Bitterness over, promise. What else is new? I’m planning a road trip with some friends in March. We’re a bunch of geeks over the Vampire Diaries and are planning a trip to Georgia for the set tour. I’m excited. The first day will be boring (through Kansas to St. Louis) but then I get to visit the South, where I’ve never really been (minus a brief trip to Houston, which is different, I’m sure).

8. So my part time job, while I look for a full-time engineering one, is at a jewelry counter at a department store. Valentine’s Day is coming up, so I’ve got a few more serious shoppers than wishful browsers coming by these days and I am so amazed at how quickly most men seem to pick things out. Really. I walk up, expecting to explain the product, offer an opinion and they’re just like: Are these real diamonds? How much? Ok cool. Let’s get it. And they’re out of there in like less than five minutes.

9.  Justin Beiber got arrested yesterday. Just letting you know, I don’t think anyone’s been talking about it much, so you might not have heard already.

10. Is there a number requirement/maximum to this? I don’t think so, but ten is always a good number. Also, I’m not editing this, so I hope all that made sense.

4 thoughts on “Bookish (and Not So Bookish) Thoughts

  1. Seems like 10 items is the norm, but I often do less. I don’t number them either… my way of trying to be sneaky, I guess, so it’s not completely obvious when I don’t have much to say.

Leave a Reply

