Bout of Books Day 6 Update

I can’t believe the week is almost over already! It went super fast. I don’t know if the read-a-thon is actually helping me read much more than I usually do, but it definitely has been fun to document. There’s just one day left, but all of tomorrow afternoon shall be dedicated to watching playoff football (Go Broncos!) so we shall see how much I can get done before the clock runs out on the read-a-thon!

Today went well, though. Yesterday I had just started and was dubious about Magnus Flyte’s City of Dark Magicbut I enjoyed it much more today. It still won’t be making a favorites list of mine or anything, but it was fun and different enough to enjoy, even if some of the scenes were confusing or eye-roll inducing. I took a reading break in the evening after finishing that book, to do some cleaning and organizing (I rarely ever feel like doing so, so I take advantage when the urge appears once every blue moon.) and then read just a chapter of The Eye of the World to get back into that story after a few days (and two books!) away from it. Good, productive day, both in reading and in other things!

Page Count

Read 275 pages of (and finished!) City of Dark Magic

Read 10 pages of The Eye of the World

Total Day 6: 285 pages

     Total Pages Read: 1094

     Books Completed: 2

6 thoughts on “Bout of Books Day 6 Update

    • I enjoyed it. I struggled with it at the beginning, but I wound up really liking it by the end. Lots of good plot twists, and overlapping the past and present was a cool concept. I had issues with some of the writing, I both liked and disliked Sarah’s character (tough and strong but a little too perfect, total package type) and I like magic but hate when it is explained by bad science (glial cells are just support for the neurons that do the actual work in your brain among other things).

  1. I spent a good chunk of yesterday watching the playoffs and will do so again today, so I knew I wasn’t going to get a ton of reading done this weekend. Hoping to at least finish up my last book. I didn’t really care for City of Dark Magic, but it’s good you were able to get some enjoyment out of it. Good luck on the last day!

Leave a Reply

