Bout of Books Read-A-Thon Update and Day 3 Challenge

If you missed my first post about the read-a-thon, learn more about Bout of Books here!

Update

I have not been doing all that well, but I do really love the book I’m reading. I’m on page 325, or about halfway through The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan, which doesn’t sound like much after almost 3 days, but this is a seriously large paperback. I didn’t have much time for reading yesterday between a job interview and working, so it didn’t even warrant an update. And today, instead of reading all day like I planned, I went to see American Hustle (Which was pretty awesome, so no regrets.) and am currently typing this between computer restarts, trying to fix the wireless connectivity (which is definitely not awesome). Tomorrow I’m going on a day trip with some friends, so we’ll see what happens, but think between evenings and Friday I can finish this book and then read at least one more (shorter one!) before the read-a-thon ends on Sunday. So, overall, a pretty rough start, but I have high hopes for the rest of the week. 

Day 3 Challenge-Introduce Someone to Your Favorite Genre

This challenge explained 

My favorite genre is high fantasy. Specifically, kick butt female lead YA high fantasy. The best introduction to the genre, in my humble opinion, are the books that were my introduction: any book about Tortall by Tamora Pierce. Alanna: The First Adventure and its sequels in The Song of the Lioness quartet are first, and you should probably start there, but my favorites of hers are the later duo Trickster’s Choice and Trickster’s Queen

If you’ve read Tammy Pierce and you’re looking to relive the experience, try Rae Carson’s The Girl of Fire and ThornsI’ve mentioned this one before, but it definitely could use repeating.

One thought on “Bout of Books Read-A-Thon Update and Day 3 Challenge

Leave a Reply

