Bout of Books Read-A-Thon

I had decided not to do this, because there are many other things I should be doing this week, but what the heck. I don’t even have to go to work that much this week, so there’s time and it’s low pressure anyway. Here’s the official blurb, if you need to know more:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 6th and runs through Sunday, January 12th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 9.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

I just now decided to go for it, only five hours out from the start, so it’s not like these goals are super well thought out, but here’s my plan:

Finish The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan: I started this just today, and it’s a monster so if I can get done with just this by the end of the week, I’ll still be pretty happy, but let’s throw in some stretch goals, shall we?

Stretch goal: Finish City of Dark Magic by Magnus Flyte and The Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan: Haven’t started these yet.

Super stretch goal: Read (at least start) And The Mountains Echoed by Kahled Hosseini.

Image

So finishing all four of these books would mean reading about 250 pages per day, which is actually somewhat doable, but we’ll see what happens. I’ll try my best to post an update or two throughout the week (on days I don’t already have a post planned). If you’re participating, let me know in the comments. I may need a friend or two!

2 thoughts on “Bout of Books Read-A-Thon

Leave a Reply

