December Wrap-Up/January TBR

This is my third month writing these and they are usually quite unpopular posts, but they are fun retrospectives for me at least! As I said last month and the month before, these will link you back to some reviews I wrote this month, in case you missed any, and also allow me to reflect on some of my favorite books of the month. The links in the titles are to Goodreads, for more info about each book, and the parentheses indicate where you can find my review of that book, either here or on Goodreads.

Books I Read in December

I set a goal last month to read all twelve books in my TBR pile. I wound up reading only nine, plus four novellas and deviating somewhat from my plans, but that’s just how it is when you discover some great new authors. Here’s what I read this month:

The Shadowhunter’s Codex by Cassandra Clare and Joshua Lewis (GR Review)

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black (SS Review)

Goddess by Josephine Angelini (SS Review)

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas (SS Review)

Doctor Sleep by Stephen King

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

(The above three were all reviewed here in one post on The Starlight Shelves)

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell (SS Review)

The Throne of Glass prequel novellas: The Assassin and the Pirate Lord (GR Review), The Assassin and the Desert (GR Review), The Assassin and the Underworld (GR Review), and The Assassin and the Empire (GR Review) by Sarah J. Maas

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas (SS Review)

So many great ones this month! I don’t think I’ll even try to pick a winner. Eleanor & Park was amazing, and I think it may have been my favorite for the entire year. So sweet and true and unexpected. I’ve become kind of obsessed with the Throne of Glass series this month as well, after finishing Crown of Midnight just a few days ago. (I almost wish I hadn’t started them so early on in the series’ publication! Oh, the agony of waiting!) The prequel novellas were surprisingly good as well, considering that I knew their ultimate conclusion before I began. Doctor SleepFangirlThe Coldest Girl in Coldtown, and Sea of Monsters are all highly recommended as well. So many great picks this month!

January TBR

I have several leftovers from last month, including the two nonfiction books I have from the library, Under the Banner of Heaven by Jon Krakauer and The Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell.

2013-12-30 17.26.19
I took this at a weird angle this month…

I also still haven’t reread The Subtle Knife and The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman or The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, though I still want to, I just keep checking out books from the library like the place is going to close or something. In my most recent trip, I picked up Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout, The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan, City of Dark Magic by Magnus Flyte, and Every You, Every Me by David Levithan (Photographs by Jonathan Farmer). The first three of those are the first books in a series, so we’ll have to see what I get to after that. Though I do have one more planned…

New for 2014: The TBR Jar! 

I have an embarrassingly large pile of books that I own, but haven’t yet read. Some of these books have been there for so many years I don’t even remember when or how I got them. They’re all stacked up between my bookshelf and the wall, out in the open so that I must stare at them every day, yet necessarily buttressed on the sides so it doesn’t all come crashing down:

2013-12-30 17.00.33
Luckily I don’t live in an earthquake prone area!

In order to make some sort of dent in that crazy mess, I decided to make a TBR jar with the titles of all of these written on little slips of paper and, by pulling at least one every month, randomizing the order in which I read them. Some of the books pictured I just recently bought or got for Christmas and might actually get to them on my own, but this will help force me to pick up the ones that have been languishing in that pile (or its previous incarnations as a box and/or shelves. Boy do I miss my built-in shelf wall in my last college room!) for ages.

I’m going to randomly pull at least one every month, but I was thinking it might be fun to grab an additional 3-5 and set up a poll to let you all vote on another one. I have few readers at the moment, but I might give it a go anyway next month. Let me know if you think that’s an exceptionally good or bad idea!

**Edit: The TBR Jar Project has a dedicated page now! Be sure to check it out. And vote for my February Reader’s choice below!**

I already made my draw for January though and it’s….*drumroll*…

2013-12-30 17.23.52

And the Mountains Echoed by Kahled Hosseini! I’m excited for this one. I loved his previous two novels (because who didn’t?) and I’m still quite excited to read this particular selection, so it’s a good one to start with.

As always, let me know what you’ve read this month and what you enjoyed out of my upcoming reads! Here’s to a great year of reading and blogging in 2014!

Leave a Reply

