Review: Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) by Sarah J. Maas

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) by Sarah J. Maas Published August 2013  by Bloomsbury 420 Pages (Hardcover)
Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) by Sarah J. Maas
Published August 2013 by Bloomsbury
420 Pages (Hardcover)

At A Glance

High fantasy fans who haven’t checked this series out yet seriously need to get with it! I liked the first one, but I loved this! The mystery plot line in this was much stronger than the one in Throne of Glass and the romance continues to run much deeper than a standard love triangle. Magic and dark intrigue abound in this even more than its predecessor and the stakes are raised in a big way. 4.5/5 Stars.

Summary (Here begin Throne of Glass Spoilers!)

Celaena has won the competition to become King’s Champion and is now working to eliminate those who pose a threat to the vast empire…or so the king thinks. Really she is leaving the rebels alive and struggling to decide how great of a role she will have in their fight; uncovering the reasons and machinations behind the banishment of magic while balancing her ever changing relationships within the castle.

My Thoughts

I am going to try very hard to talk about things without spoiling the plot, but it’s going to be challenging. Let’s see…

My biggest complaint with Throne of Glass was the predictability of the plot. There was one plot point that became very obvious to me early on (the one revealed explicitly at the very, very end, for those who’ve read it) so much so that it was probably meant to be that way, or at least I hope so. However, other than that, I found this plot to be a lot stronger in terms of surprising events. Celaena is challenged left and right, deciding who she can trust and how much she will give of herself to serve her country. The obstacles thrown in her path as well as her reactions to them are inspired. They hurt, in the best possible sense. Every other major character was challenged as well, by each other and by the trappings of their various positions. Again, as in Throne of Glass, the multiple perspectives serve the narrative extremely well

I continue to enjoy the romance aspect of this series as well. All three characters in the love triangle are fully formed and have pretty well developed relationships on all sides, though Dorian and Chaol didn’t have as much interaction with each other as I would have hoped, friendship-stressing events aside. Even more than the romance in this book, I look forward to seeing what happens in the next as the setting changes and some of the trio is separated from the rest.

My only problems with this book, and they are teeny-tiny problems, are some small confusion over the Wyrd and its role, though admittedly I was still reeling from events when it was explained, so that could be just me. The rebel group was quite mysterious as well. Partly for plot reasons, I’m sure, but I do wish I knew more about their motivations and ambitions. I’m assuming both entities will come into play more in the following book or books in this series, so I’m sure I will learn more in due time.

Wrap-Up

This is a very good fantasy series that I highly recommend. It’s got well-developed characters and a big, complicated world for them to operate in. Definitely check it out if it sounds even remotely interesting to you and enjoy the ride until you have to join the rest of us in waiting for more!

3 thoughts on “Review: Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I warned you!!! I seriously wish publishers would wait to publish until they have all the books done!! Between this, the next Raven Boys book and Silver Shadows I’m seriously at a lose as to what to read! So ready for #3 in this series!!

Leave a Reply

