NaNoWriMo Day 9

14,710/50k

Today was officially a write-a-thon day. My ML hosted a local write-in, but I couldn’t make it. So sad.

Instead, I spent the day painting and raking leaves and generally doing non-writing related things around the house. I sneaked a few minutes of writing time, but I’m not quite to today’s goal of 15k. I’ve still got the whole night though, and I’m sure I can finish a few hundred more words before I have to go to bed.

The story’s feeling a little boring and I’m not sure everything is going the way I really want it to. There’s magic in my fantasy world and I think my outsider character is starting to pick up on things just a little too quickly. It’ll all be ok though, I can always go back and rewrite some of the early scenes, make her a little less sure of herself, but for now I just gotta run with it.

I’ve never done this before and I know that Week 2 is where a lot of people drop out. I get it. I’ve let a bunch of other things I need to get done pile up and some times it feels pretty pointless. Who is ever going to read this anyway. It’s my first novel; it almost definitely sucks. I don’t want to quit, though. 1667 words per day takes only about an hour if I really work at it and by putting myself out there and committing to it on here and through my local group really keeps me on track. I’ve spent enough time this year waiting around for job offers that never come and I really need to do something for myself. So no Week 2 doldrums for me, it’s time to keep pushing forward and finish something for once.

Leave a Reply

