October Wrap-Up/November TBR

I really love watching “Booktube” videos on YouTube and some of my favorites are the Wrap Up/To be read videos that come out at the end of each month. Since I started this blog in October, I’ve written a review for nearly every book I read. Even if I didn’t write a long formal review here, I’m pretty meticulous about keeping my Goodreads page updated with what I’ve read and a few notes in the review section with what I thought about it, so instead of doing that here, I thought I’d let you know everything I read this month and which books/series I recommend the most. It’s like a Hunger Games for books. There’s only one winner, unless there’s two. Or five.

Books I read in October:

Frostbite, Shadow Kiss, Blood Promise (Review), Spirit Bound, and Last Sacrifice by Richelle Mead

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

The Transfer and Allegiant (Review) by Veronica Roth

Untold by Sarah Rees Brennan

The Hero and The Crown by Robin McKinley

Nightfall by L.J. Smith (Review)

The Fall of The Hotel Dumort (The Bane Chronicles) by Cassandra Clare and Maureen Johnson

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher (Review)

The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman

Unbreakable by Kami Garcia (Review)

Beauty Queens by Libba Bray (Review)

Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini (Review)

I cannot emphasize enough how much The Vampire Academy series surprised me. I was expecting a trite, predictable romance and instead I got punched in the face with action and emotion. I definitely pick it as a winner of the month.

Thirteen Reasons Why wins as well in the Contemporary category. (There are categories now, I just decided.) It was a great book, a well composed and suspenseful read.

And I have to say one last time that the Divergent Trilogy as a whole are some of my favorite books of the last couple of years.

Scarlet, The Dream Thieves and Untold all get honorable mentions, they’re all great sequels in up and coming series, but I already have too many winners. I’m bad at decisions.

Now, here’s a glimpse at some books that should have reviews coming up on the blog in the next month, though NaNoWriMo will probably put a significant damper on the reviewing schedule since it kills both reading time and writing motivation:

2013-11-04 16.34.53
My November TBR stack (top to bottom):
Battle Royale by Koushun Takami
The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken
Bloodlines by Richelle Mead
Dreamless and Goddess by Josephine Angelini
The Subtle Knife and The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.

I’m currently reading both Battle Royale by Koushum Takami and The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken. I first heard of Battle Royale right after reading the Hunger Games in 2009. Fans of the Japanese cult phenomenon were outraged at the praise of such a shameless rip off. I was intrigued. I’m about a third of the way done with it and there are a striking number of similarities between the two, but I’ll have to wait until the end to see how closely related they really are.

I started The Darkest Minds yesterday on a whim when I was getting a little bored with Battle Royale. I keep hearing great things about it and I really hope it lives up to my expectations.

Once I’m done with those I’ll be reading Bloodlines by Richelle Mead, and hopefully picking up its sequels, The Golden Lily and The Indigo Spell. Looks like The Firey Heart, book 4, comes out this month too. Let me just pop over to the library’s website and put that on hold…

Turns out my town is not so Vampire Academy obsessed as I thought. I’m first in line. For book 4 in a series I haven’t even started yet. I’m a nerd. Moving on.

Anyway, I was at the library yesterday and I grabbed Dreamless and Goddess by Josephine Angelini, so I can complete the Starcrossed series sometime this month as well.

Then I’ll probably reread The Book Thief in honor of the movie release and maybe I’ll have time to finish my reread of the His Dark Materials Trilogy by Philip Pullman. I broke out my well loved copies of The Subtle Knife and The Amber Spyglass last week and I’m excited to re-experience an old favorite series.

Plus there’s another Bane Chronicle out this month: What To Buy the Shadowhunter Who Has Everything (And Who You’re Not Officially Dating Anyway) by Cassie Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan. I’m a huge Malec fangirl, so this is by far my most anticipated installment yet. I’ve got it preordered and ready to auto-deliver.

And that’s what’s on the TBR pile! (for now at least!) What have you read from that pile? Any recommendations for me?

2 thoughts on “October Wrap-Up/November TBR

Leave a Reply

