NaNoWriMo Day 3: The Day the Doubts Start to Set in

5,526/50,000 (Still on par!)

I’m at the point where my character has entered the new world, and there’s a lot of explaining to do. Today was the point I realized that I don’t have all the answers ready and even when I do have them, they’re hard to work in the story organically. I don’t want to reveal too much, and I definitely don’t want characters to know things beyond the scope of their perspective. Today was the day the task started to feel too big. Not necessarily the word count, just managing a story big enough to fill it and hoping my words do that story justice.

I’m going to forge ahead though, I’m finding the community aspect to be a lot of fun. My local NaNoWriMo group is doing multiple write-ins a week, and I hope to make it to one soon. The (good!) pressure of having a profile on the site and friends in the local forum are really helping me stay focused on getting those words out!

Leave a Reply

