November’s a Good Month to Read a—Movie

I’ve been working most of the afternoon on this big, meaty review and philosophical discussion post about Veronica Roth’s Allegiant, which released this Tuesday. I hoped to have it up today, but it’s turning into such a monstrous and messy block of text that that is clearly not going to happen. I was just thinking though, that November is going to be such a good month to be a book lover at the movie theater as three YA books hit theaters this month.

Ender’s Game-November 1st

Ender’s Game, starring Asa Butterfield and Harrison Ford, rockets into theaters November 1st. (See what I did! Rockets! ‘Cause it’s in space! I crack myself up.) I’d heard of the source novel by Orson Scott Card a long time ago, but I didn’t read it until about a month ago, after the movie started advertisements, and I am so excited to see the game-battles on screen. It’s definitely a book that I think will lend itself to an amazing visual experience, and there are so many great actors cast in it.

The Book Thief-November 8th

Just a week later, on November 8, 20th Century Fox releases its film adaptation of The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I’ve read this book twice, and I loved it both times, but it’s been at least 4 years since the last time and I think I forgot a lot about it. I’m trying to decide if I should reread it before or after I see the movie. I want to remember the plot, but I don’t want to sit in the theater and nit pick about every little change the filmmakers make. I am interested to see if the movie maintains Death as a character, though. It was such a fascinating aspect about the novel.

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire-November 22nd

Then, on November 22, Catching Fire, the follow up to The Hunger Games comes out. I was pretty impressed with the first movie, and I’m sure this one won’t disappoint either. Catching Fire was my favorite book in the series because it so perfectly balanced emotion and action, and we all know Jennifer Lawrence can do both.

Which one are you most excited for? Did I forget any? What books are becoming movies next year that I should start reading now? Hopefully I’ll be able to go and see all of these movies next month and try my very non-expert hand at film review, or at least book-to-film comparison.

One thought on “November’s a Good Month to Read a—Movie

Leave a Reply

