Who’s Ready for Some NaNoWriMo?

I seem to have fallen in a bit of a reading slump. Usually I knock out a couple of books per week, but I’m currently reading Jane Austen’s Emma, which is going to take some more time. Plus the advent of fall TV has seriously cut into my reading hours.

I am also trying to prepare for this year’s NaNoWriMo. I’ve known about the event for a few years now, but while I was in college I never had the time, so this year is my first year attempting it in earnest. I’m struggling to get an outline together especially since I’ve never written anything near this long before, but I’m still excited about my concept. I won’t share it yet, because, like I said, it’s not lending itself to a solid plot just yet. (But I can tell you that it’s high fantasy!) The beginning is there, but I have no clear picture of where it will end. The middle development bits are consequently confused and going nowhere. I really just need to build the world a little better to figure out the conflict more and I should be ready to dive in.

I hope to be able to write some short updates about my NaNoWriMo experience once it gets rolling, though I’m sure I won’t be up to a lot of extra writing. We’ll see how it goes. 

I’ve done some research, and my local library does write-ins, but I thought it’d be fun to try to meet some other NaNoWriMo writers in the blogging community. Let me know if you’re out there!

One thought on “Who’s Ready for Some NaNoWriMo?

Leave a Reply

