My First Post

I know, creative post title right? You should have seen how long it took me to come up with a title for the blog.

Anyone reading this first post the day it goes up will know me already, but let’s just start there anyway:

My name is Joanne, I’m 22, and I recently graduated from college with a degree in Chemical Engineering, which is supposed to be one of those degrees that get you a super fancy job right out of school, but alas, I’m living at my parents house in Colorado. If being unemployed has any perks though, it’s that I have a lot of time on my hands to get back into hobbies I used to love. I spent a good chunk of the summer reading books at the kind of breakneck pace that normal people with things to do never reach, and I started to really love reviewing them on my Goodreads account. Some of my friends like reading them as much as I like writing them, so I decided to move the whole operation to a new blog so I could continue reviewing while also developing some new content like broader discussions of genres and authors, or reviewing movie adaptations, and anything else I think up to write.

Even though I’ve been an adult for nearly half a decade now, I still read mostly YA. Fantasy is my favorite genre, though I read sci-fi often as well, including the recent wave of dystopian novels that have overtaken the YA shelves the last few years. I read adult fantasy as well as YA, and I’ve been known to pick up a contemporary novel from time to time also.

I’m not too sure how regular the posting will be around here, I’ll probably write a whole bunch of stuff while I’m still really excited about it and put up at least two posts a week for a little while, so be sure to check back!

Pictured below is my currently reading/TBR pile, aka what’s coming up on the blog. If you’ve read any of these, let me know what you think in the comments!

Image

Links (top to bottom): Emma, The Return: Nightfall, The Golden Compass, Battle Royale,  Starcrossed, Beauty Queens, Thirteen Reasons Why

 

One thought on “My First Post

Leave a Reply

